Young Writers, Get Writing… The Wicked Young Writers Award Are Back For 2017!

For the past few years the musical, Wicked has run the Wicked Young Writers Award, an award launched in 2010 to link the themes and ideas of the musical with a competition which would inspire young people to use the power of creative writing to “look at life a little differently.”

From the website:

The Award recognises excellence in writing, encourages creativity, and helps develop writing talent in young people between 5-25 years old from all backgrounds and areas of the UK.

In 2016, a sixth category, the For Good Award for Non-Fiction was introduced to encourage 15-25 year olds to write essays or articles that celebrate the positive impact that people can have on each other, their community and the world we live in.
The category celebrates the WICKED: FOR GOOD programme, which supports charitable causes at the heart of the stage musical.

The Prize

All winners will receive four tickets to the West End production of Wicked The Musical, complete with meeting the cast and a backstage tour.

The younger winners (up to 14) also win £50 with of book tokens to spend on books/ebooks as well as £100 worth of books for the winner’s school library donated by Hachette Children’s Books. AND a bespoke Wicked workshop for their school.

For older winners (15 – 25) and for winners of the non-fiction For Good award will win £50 worth of book tokens to spend on books/ebooks. AND an exclusive writing experience with one of the awards partners.

All finalists pieces will be published in the Wicked Young Writer Awards 2017 anthology.

The Judges

This year’s head judge is Cressida Cowell (How To Train Your Dragon) and the awards are championed by Michael Morpogo and the patron is HRH The Duchess of Cornwall.

For more information including how to enter visit the Wicked Young Writers Award website.

The closing date is the 13th March 2017.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

You Might Also Like


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *